Return and exit

It’s been a lot longer than usual since I last posted on the Rimmblog, and for that I apologize. I’ve been moving house in industrial quantities, and also saying goodbye to someone for a long while. I’ll look back on these stressful times and, well, be glad I’m looking back at them and not forward. But, it’s being an event, and I would hate an uneventful life.

I’ll aim to be back to daily posts in a day or two, but Christmas will get in the way of that. I’m never mad into Christmas (I know, I’m sorry!), and one reason is that it tends to knock a massive hole in my beautiful schedule. Come 2015 I have no doubt I’ll be hitting the production line with a grim fury.

http://www.vox.com/2014/9/29/6840773/confessions-of-a-former-internet-troll

To keep things ticking over, here’s a fascinating article I read today. It’s been a hell of a year for internet culture, in that internet culture is now a smoking burnt out ruin with post-apocalyptic savages chasing each other through the wreckage. There was a once a time when I was proud to call myself a troll, in fact, it pains me a little not to, but somewhere something changed, and it didn’t change for the better. This article phrases it beautifully.

Trolling is a art. Trolls used to mock anyone who took themselves too seriously. It was like a code of honour. Now, there isn’t a group in the world that takes itself more seriously than hardline trolls. I used to see fascism as an external influence, taking over a society by force. Now it’s more of a mass illness, a tribal insanity that floods a generation with blinding rage. Was I always this pessimistic, or has it just taken on a different form, I wonder.

Leave a Reply

